MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES, PANELS, WORKING GROUPS

Key: S - Spokesperson, C - Chairman, VC - Vice-Chairman

Meetings of Local Engagement Forums, Local Development Framework Panel, Swale Rural Forum and Swale Joint Transportation Board, will elect a Chairman at the first meeting of the Civic Year.

Appointments Committee (to be a Sub-Committee of the General Purposes Committee)

Membership = 7 Quorum = 3

Conservative (5)	Labour (2)	Independent Group
Andrew Bowles	Roger Truelove	
Derek Conway	Ghlin Whelan	
Mike Cosgrove		
Gerry Lewin		
David Simmons		

Audit Committee

Membership = 9 Quorum = 3

Conservative (6)	Labour (2)	Independent Group (1)
Andy Booth	Angela Harrison	Mike Henderson
Nicholas Hampshire (C)	Mike Haywood	
Colin Prescott (VC)		
Ted Wilcox		

Emergency Committee

Membership = 6 (Membership to comprise of six Senior Members as nominated by their respective group, or their substitutes). Quorum = 2

Conservative (4)	Labour (2)	Independent Group
Andrew Bowles (C)	Roger Truelove	
Mike Cosgrove	Mike Haywood	
Gerry Lewin (VC)		
John Wright		

Cabinet

See separate report.

Faversham Local Engagement Forum - membership to be made up of relevant Ward Councillors

Membership = 17 Quorum = 2

Chairman and Vice-Chairman to be elected at first meeting and to rotate annually between SBC and KCC Kent County Councillors (2): Mr Bowles (also a Borough Member) and Mr Gates

Kent Association of Local Councils representative (2): Councillors S Vaight (Oare PC) and P Duncan (Selling PC)

Conservative (11)	Labour (0)	Independent Group (1)
Richard Barnicott		Mike Henderson

George Bobbin	
Lloyd Bowen	
Andrew Bowles	
Mike Cosgrove	
John Coulter	
Bryan Mulhern	
Colin Prescott	
David Simmons	
Anita Walker (CM)	
Ted Wilcox	

General Purposes Committee

Membership = 9 Quorum = 3

Conservative (6)	Labour (3)	Independent Group
Andrew Bowles (C)	Angela Harrison	
Derek Conway	Roger Truelove	
Mike Cosgrove	Stephen Worrall	
Gerry Lewin (VC)		
Mike Whiting		
David Simmons		

General Licensing Committee

Membership = 10 Quorum = 4

Conservative (7)	Labour (3)	Independent Group
George Bobbin	Mick Constable	
Adrian Crowther	Nick Williams	
Lesley Ingham (VC)	Tony Winckless	
John Morris (C)		
Jean Willicombe		

Licensing Act 2003 Committee

Membership = 15 Quorum = 5

Licensing Sub-Committee membership to be formed from within the Licensing Act 2003 Committee membership

Conservative (10)	Labour (4)	Independent Group (1)
George Bobbin	Mick Constable	Monique Bonney
John Morris (C)	Nick Williams	
Derek Conway	Tony Winckless	
Adrian Crowther	Steve Worrall	
June Garrad		
Lesley Ingham (VC)		
Colin Prescott		
Anita Walker		
Alan Willicombe		
Jean Willicombe		

Local Development Framework (LDF) Panel

Membership = 9 Quorum = 3

Conservative (6)	Labour (3)	Independent Group
Andy Booth	Mike Haywood	
Derek Conway (VC)	Roger Truelove	
Gerry Lewin (C)	Adam Tolhurst	
Bryan Mulhern		
Colin Prescott		
John Wright		

Member Development Working Group

Conservative	Labour	Independent Group
Ted Wilcox	Mark Ellen	Mike Henderson
Duncan Dewar-Whalley		

Planning Committee

Membership = 17 Quorum = 6

Conservative (11)	Labour (5)	Independent Group (1)
Rick Barnicott (C)	Mick Constable (S)	Mike Henderson
George Bobbin	Mark Ellen	
Andy Booth	Roger Truelove	
Derek Conway	Nick Williams	
Adrian Crowther	Ghlin Whelan	
June Garrad		
Bryan Mulhern		
Colin Prescott (VC)		
Pat Sandle		
Alan Willicombe		
Jean Willicombe		

Policy Overview Committee

Membership = 13 Quorum = 5

Conservative (9)	Labour (3)	Independent Group (1)
Andy Booth	Martin McCusker	Monique Bonney
Lloyd Bowen (VC)	Mike Haywood (C)	
John Coulter	Roger Truelove	
June Garrad		
Ed Gent		
Nick Hampshire		
Ken Pugh		
Gareth Randall		
Mike Whiting		

Scrutiny Committee

Membership = 11 Quorum = 4

Conservative (8)	Labour (3)	Independent Group
Sylvia Bennett	Jackie Constable	
George Bobbin	Mark Ellen	
Andy Booth (VC)	Angela Harrison (C)	
Lloyd Bowen		
John Coulter		
Ed Gent		
Colin Prescott		
Peter Marchington		

Sheppey Local Engagement Forum - membership to be made up of relevant Ward Councillors

Membership = 17 Quorum = 2

Chairman and Vice-Chairman to be elected at first meeting and to rotate annually between SBC and KCC) Kent County Councillors (2): Mr Crowther and Mr Pugh (also Borough Members) Kent Association of Local Councils representative (2): Cllr K Ingleton (Minster Parish Council) and Cllr L Murray (Warden Parish Council).

Conservative (8)	Labour (6)	Independent Group
Andy Booth	Mick Constable	
Adrian Crowther	Jackie Constable	
June Garrad	Mark Ellen	
Lesley Ingham	Angela Harrison	
Peter Marchington	David Sargent	
John Morris	Steve Worrall	
Kenneth Pugh		
Pat Sandle (C)		

Sittingbourne Local Engagement Forum - membership to be made up of relevant Ward Councillors

Membership = 27 Quorum = 2

Chairman and Vice-Chairman to be elected at first meeting and to rotate annually between SBC and KCC) Kent County Councillors (4): Mr Bowles, Mr Ferrin, Mr Whiting (C) and Mr Willicombe (also a Borough Member). Kent Association of Local Councils representative (2): Councillors D Jordan (Rodmersham Parish Council) and P Paige (Borden Parish Council).

Conservative (13)	Labour (7)	Independent Group (1)
Sylvia Bennett	Mike Haywood	Monique Bonney
Derek Conway	Martin McCusker	
Duncan Dewar-Whalley	Adam Tolhurst	
Ed Gent	Roger Truelove	
Sue Gent (C)	Ghlin Whelan	
Nicholas Hampshire	Nick Williams	
Gerry Lewin	Tony Winckless	
Gareth Randall		
Ben Stokes		
Mike Whiting		
Alan Willicombe		
Jean Willicombe		
John Wright		

Standards Committee (until July 2012)

Membership = 11 Quorum = 3 (to include one Ind. Member)

Chairman and Vice-Chairman to be elected at first meeting (to be an Independent Member).

2 Parish Council representatives, 3 Independent Members, 6 Borough Councillors (Independent Members should make up 25% of the Committee, excluding Parish Council Representatives)

Standards Sub-Committee membership to be formed from within Standards Committee membership

Conservative (4)	Labour (2)	Independent Group
Rick Barnicott	Nick Williams	
Lloyd Bowen	Tony Winckless	
Adrian Crowther		
Colin Prescott		

Swale Joint Transportation Board

Membership = 15 (7 from SBC) Quorum = 4 (2 from each Council)

Chairman and Vice-Chairman to be elected at first meeting (Chairman and Vice-Chairman to rotate annually between SBC and KCC)

Kent County Councillors (7) Adrian Crowther, Bowles, Ferrin, Gates, Kenneth Pugh, Mike Whiting and Alan Willicombe.

Kent Association of Local Councils representative (2) (Councillors Mike Baldock and Peter Macdonald)

Conservative (5)	Labour (2)	Independent Group
Rick Barnicott	Angela Harrison	
Colin Prescott	Ghlin Whelan	
Pat Sandle		
Jean Willicombe		
John Wright (VC)		

Swale Rural Forum - Membership as below in bold

Membership = 15 Quorum = 5

Chairman and Vice-Chairman to be elected at first meeting.

(Councillors from the Wards in the Leader+ Programme Area and the Borden Ward and the Cabinet Member for Environment), Kent County Councillor - (vacancy) and Ms E Harrison (Head of Rural Regeneration, Kent County Council), Kent Association of Local Councils (KALC) - Councillors Baldock, Ingleton and Tucker, Swale National Farmers Union (NFU) - Messrs Kevin Attwood, Alastair Brooks and Jeff Holroyd, Diocese of Canterbury - Reverend Caroline Pinchbeck, SEESWALE - Mrs Pamela Prescott, Action with Communities in Rural Kent - Mr Keith Harrison, Swale Countryside Forum - Mr David Shaw, Greening the Gateway Kent and Medway - Mr Martin Hall, Swale Local Strategic Partnership - Environment & Liveability Thematic Partnership - Ms Fay Blair, Council for the Protection of Rural England (CPRE) - Mr Peter Blandon, Kent Police - Inspector Kevin Swinney.

Conservative (14)	Labour (0)	Independent Group (1)
Richard Barnicott		Monique Bonney
George Bobbin		
Andrew Bowles		
Lloyd Bowen		
June Garrad		
Nicholas Hampshire		
Lesley Ingham		
Gerry Lewin		
John Morris		
Colin Prescott (C)		
David Simmons		
Pat Sandle		
Ben Stokes		
John Wright		